“Een bitch huh zalve op de wound” : Kerry anwers the Flemish press…

[…] I can tell you that the government that’s been in place for about a year has been extremely vigilant and extremely proactive.

Just last month, before these attacks, we had a foreign fighter search team here, in Belgium, working with the Belgian authorities.

Nina Myers

– “We need to be more willing to allow authorities to trade certain kinds of information in order to be able to protect people. […]”

SWIFT

– “One of the suicide bombers, el Bakraoui, was [apparently] on a [US] terror list, [but] not in Belgium, not on the Schengen list : doesn’t that illustrate that there isn’t enough exchange of information ?

Victor-Drazen

– “Absolutely, that’s exactly what I was talking about.

– “What are you going to do about it ?

– “Well, we’ve been advocating for some period of time for Europe as a whole to adopt a broader information sharing system. I think it is fair to say that in a number of countries, partly because of Mr. Edward Snowden, and the history, people have had a reservation about doing some of these things, because they felt it might be an invasion of their privacy.

ES

I don’t worry about my privacy. The fact that I’m getting on an airplane, not on a military airplane as I’m doing right now, but on a civilian airplane, as I was doing when I was a senator : I don’t care if they know I’m on the plane, cuz’ I’m obeying the law […].

The BrinkTim Robbins (The Brink)

I would urge Belgium and all European countries to create a more integrated flow of information so that we can protect ourselves more [efficiently]. […] There is a way to do that and still protect people’s legitimate privacy. There is absolutely a way to do that, and we’ve proven it and we’ve lived with it : we passed the Patriot Act after 9/11, and I think most Americans – some object still, but most Americans – have come to view it as not interfering with their day-to-day [lives] and their rights.

'patriot act'

(Terzake, VRT/Canvas, March 25, 2016)

Catégories : Politique / Société | Poster un commentaire

Navigation des articles

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.

